Senator Lanane addresses departure of Judge Bonaventura from Department of Child Services

Published On: December 18th, 2017Categories: Caucus, Tim LananeTags:

INDIANAPOLIS—Today, Senate Democratic Leader Tim Lanane (D-Anderson) issued the following comments regarding the announced resignation of Judge Mary Beth Bonaventura as the director of the Department of Child Services.

“I am deeply disturbed by the resignation of Judge Bonaventura and the circumstances she has identified as the cause of her departure. The judge has been an authority on what is best for this state’s most vulnerable children for decades, and it appears that her resignation is based on the administration’s departure from her core value of keeping children safe.

“Since the height of the recession in 2009 the Department of Child Services has seen deep cuts to their funding and it appears that those cuts are continuing, putting our children at an unnecessary risk. The state seems to place a priority on preserving the nearly two billion dollar budget surplus, rather than protecting children. Discussions about cutting the budget to the agency responsible for protecting kids increasingly harmed by Indiana’s opioid crisis are wholly irresponsible.

“Legislative leaders, including myself, will have plenty of questions for the governor’s administration and their apparent misguided priorities. I expect legislators to ask for a special committee to investigate these concerns during the State Budget Committee meeting today.

“I will demand more action regarding this dangerous situation, and will author legislation if needed to ensure Indiana is doing everything it must do to keep children safe. No matter the cost.”


Sen. Lanane represents Indiana Senate District 25 which includes portions of Madison and Delaware counties, including the City of Muncie and the southeastern portion of the City of Anderson. For more information on Sen. Lanane, his legislative agenda or other State Senate business call 1-800-382-9467 or visit

NOTE: A photo of Sen. Tim Lanane can be downloaded at:

View by Legislative Year

View by Current & Past Member